Thursday, August 17, 2017

Harley Quinn, Volume 2: Joker Loves Harley by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti


Title: Harley Quinn, Volume 2: Joker Loves Harley
Author: Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti
Publisher: DC Entertainment
Genre: Comic
Publication: June 27, 2017


Source: Publisher on NetGalley

My Rating: 3/5

Harley Quinn's punk-rock epic concludes with a BANG. Too deep and not covered enough, their undercover mission comes to an end as the gang takes on thieves and murderers. All the laughs and some of the quacks are all here.

Taking a break comes with unexpected woes when Harley and Ivy head to the Bahamas for sun-kissed beaches and ice-cold drinks.

Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti continue their mammoth run on this New York Times best-selling title in Harley Quinn, Volume 2: Joker Loves Harley!
Collecting: Harley Quinn 7-12



Sunday, July 30, 2017

Falling for the Beast by Victorine E. Lieske


Title: Falling for the Beast
Author: Victorine E. Lieske
Genre: Retelling, Romance, Fairy Tale
Publication: March 10, 2017

Source: NetGalley

My Rating: 4/5

Aribelle is backed into the position of cleaning house for the horrible Mr. Thaddeus Walker. Not only is he rude, he's dangerously secretive, going out at night and coming home with injuries which seem to heal mysteriously fast. She should be keeping her distance, not trying to break down his barriers. But the more she uncovers, the more attracted she becomes until the cost of exposing his secrets fades behind the risk of losing her heart.

Thaddeus knows he should have sent the girl away instead of allowing her into his home. Now she’s asking questions he can’t answer. And the more time they spend together, the more he wishes he could pull her close and kiss her. But he can’t afford to do that. Beautiful Aribelle could never love a beast.

Falling for the Beast is a sweet romance.



Monday, July 10, 2017

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery


Title: Anne of Green Gables
Author: L.M. Montgomery
Genre: Classic, Children's
Publication: June 1908

My Rating: 5/5

When Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables farm on Prince Edward Island, she surprises everyone: first of all, she is a girl. Marilla Cuthbert and her brother, Matthew, had specifically asked for an orphan boy. She has bright red hair that won't manage and a mouth that won't shut. Nothing will ever be the same at Green Gables!

A favorite story of generations of girls ever since it was first published in 1908, Lucy Maud Montgomery's classic story of one girl's profound effect on a small Canadian community has stayed in print for nearly one hundred years and has been made into a popular TV series and even a musical.



Sunday, June 18, 2017

The Law of Attraction by Roxie Cooper


Title: The Law of Attraction
Author: Roxie Cooper
Publisher: HQ Digital
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary Publication: June 23, 2007

My Rating: 3/5

"Well, it's fair to say your background isn't conventional in terms of the average barrister…" Dolus points out. "Well that depends on your definition of conventional and who wants to be average anyway?"

Northern girl Amanda Bentley isn’t your average lawyer.


She spent her teenage years in the Working Men’s club and hanging out in the park to avoid going home. Fresh out of law school she lands pupillage at a top set of Chambers and is catapulted into a world completely alien to her own, fighting prejudice and snobbery at every turn.

Piling on the pressure, this year it is announced two candidates have been accepted but there’s only one job at the end of it. And her competition? Marty, her smarmy law school nemesis.

Throw into the mix an ill-advised romance with the staggeringly sexy Sid Ryder and Amanda quickly realises winning pupillage isn’t just about how good a lawyer you are.

But even if she does come out on top, all of it could be for nothing if her colleagues ever discover who she really is and one very dark secret.

Perfect for fans of Legally Blonde, Lindsey Kelk and Joanna Bolouri. Don't miss this hilarious new ebook!



Sunday, June 4, 2017

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead


Title: Vampire Academy
Author: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Publication: August 16, 2007

My Rating: 3/5


Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies...

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth's magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires - the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa's best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir's Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger... and the Strigoi are always close by.

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever...


Thursday, May 18, 2017

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell


Title: Attachments
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: Dutton
Genre: Contemporary
Publication: April 04, 2011

My Rating: 3/5

"Hi, I'm the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you..." 

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It's company policy.) But they can't quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O'Neill can't believe this is his job now- reading other people's e-mail. When he applied to be "internet security officer," he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth's and Jennifer's messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can't help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he's falling for Beth, it's way too late to introduce himself.


Saturday, May 6, 2017

Gametalk: Final Fantasy XV

Image Source

Enroute to wed his fiancée Luna on a road trip with his best friends, Prince Noctis is advised by news reports that his homeland has been invaded and taken over under the false pretense of a peace treaty – and that he, his loved one and his father King Regis, have been slain at the hands of the enemy.

To gather the strength needed to uncover the truth and reclaim his homeland, Noctis and his loyal companions must overcome a series of challenges in a spectacular open world - that is filled with larger-than-life creatures, amazing wonders, diverse cultures and treacherous foes. (source)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...